.

A Letter of Support for Dan Knodl

Dan Knodl is somebody who understands that Madison had a spending problem.

Dear Editor:

Just 2 years ago, Wisconsin was facing a $3 billion dollar deficit and record high unemployment.  Because of the hard work of Dan, his fellow Republicans in the Assembly, and along with Governor Walker, Wisconsin now has a budget surplus and job growth is on the upswing.

Dan Knodl is somebody who understands that Madison had a spending problem.  For the first time in state history, Wisconsin has actually deposited monies into the states "rainy day fund". Dan knows that we should set aside some monies now - so that we have backup funds in case of another economic downturn. This is prudent budgeting, yet Dan's opponent has stated that he thinks the monies should be spent now.

All I hear from Shan Haqqi is the same worn out lines that he will just make businesses pay (like local employers like Kohl’s and Harley Davidson), and he will pull out the credit card again.  Shan sounds like he is taking his ques from Madison Democrats rather than the people of the 24th District. Since Shan does not live in the district perhaps he feels more beholden to his party leaders than to the people he wishes to represent.

As a taxpayer in the state of Wisconsin, I have no desire to see Wisconsin go back to the days of politics as usual complete with runaway spending, budget deficits and tax increases on the backs of Wisconsin’s working families.

Dan Knodl will be a strong, independent voice for the 24th Assembly District and won’t be afraid to say no to the special interest groups.  On November 6th, Dan Knodl is the responsible choice for Wisconsin taxpayers.

Sincerely,

Mark Bertieri, Germantown

Gordon E Lang October 30, 2012 at 03:19 PM
Please vote for Dan Knodl if you live in the 24th Assembly District. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr_aLGCDr4c&feature=plcp
Steve ® October 30, 2012 at 06:36 PM
Dan wins in a landslide
Gordon E Lang October 30, 2012 at 06:47 PM
Please vote for Dan Knodl on November 6, 2012 or before. Early voting ends on November 2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9EcKlhZhy4&list=UUnB0XuVKojvIzILMEgnVCyA&index=91&feature=plcp
JGC October 30, 2012 at 10:35 PM
he good folks here in district 24 deserve better representation then someone who would deliberately deceive and ignore the laws of our community. What does it say about our district if we knowingly elect an individual who has repeatedly demonstrated a disregard for the rules? What would that teach our young people? That it is OK to reward criminal and unethical behavior as long as the person claims to represent conservative values? Dan Knodl was arrested in 1991 for selling liquor without a license, pleaded guilty to disorderly conduct for falsifying campaign documents and just settled a lawsuit against him for trying to hide a political relationship with the ALEC in a personal email account. In that settlement today Knodl "recognize that public records may be located in personal email accounts and acknowledge that they have a legal responsibility as elected officials to provide public records to a requester,". A vote for Knodl is a vote for dishonesty and indifference to the law.
Victor Nissan October 31, 2012 at 05:24 PM
Seems as though the letter writer has his facts wrong. Dan Knodl is one of the most extremist members of the state legislature. In fact, he not only endorses Rep Rivard, who said, "some girls rape easy," - he offered campaign assistance to Rivard. What's more, Knodl has been involved in criminal activity for many years: operating without a liquor license, lying about those who endorsed him, secret emails, etc. This is not the person we want to represent our community. I urge all residents of District 24 to vote with a conscience and vote for Shan Haqqi. He is the one with experience and integrity who can lead our community in a positive direction. Vote Shan Haqqi Nov 6th.
Rosie Azalee October 31, 2012 at 05:37 PM
The letter is in desperate need of fact-checking. First of all, the state was on track for a surplus before Walker took office. Knodl's record has been marred with legal problems and inability to pass legislation (he is too extreme for his party). Shan Haqqi has the education, experience and integrity to represent our community. Shan is someone we can be proud of in the State Assembly - I urge you to join me in joining for Shan on Nov 6th.
Steve ® October 31, 2012 at 05:39 PM
A 3.6 billion dollar budget deficit is now a surplus? Please explain that one
Rosie Azalee October 31, 2012 at 10:24 PM
The state’s fiscal bureau (Wisconsin's equivalent of the Congressional Budget Office) indicated in 1/2011 that Wisconsin wasn’t in need of austerity measures and would conclude the fiscal year with a surplus. Moreover, they said that the budget shortfall was a direct result of tax cut policies Walker enacted in his first days in office. To the point of this election - Knodl has been involved in criminal activity and legal problems for years. He has not been able to pass legislation. He has endorsed and offered campaign support to a guy who says 'some girls rape easy' - your vitriolic comments show who you are and why you would support someone who lies and has no integrity. The upstanding and smart citizens of District 24 will join me in joining for Shan.
Nuitari (Grand Master Editor) November 01, 2012 at 01:46 AM
I can hear the Blue Fisters' drums beating......
Rosie Azalee November 01, 2012 at 01:49 AM
You're pretty desperate to be picking on someone's name and linking to parking violations . The truth is that Shan has an impeccable record of service to his community, stellar education, and vast experience to proudly and successfully represent our community - a far cry from Knodl's criminal record, lack of education and general ineptitude. Vote Shan.
Gordon E Lang November 01, 2012 at 02:31 AM
I heard that Shan cannot vote for himself as he does not live in the district, another carpetbagger.
Steve ® November 01, 2012 at 03:28 PM
lol these blue fisters have a permanent mental disability. Desperate, no Rosie. Dan will win in a landslide that is as far from desperate as you can get. What gets old is lying and slander from the blue fisters.
JGC November 01, 2012 at 08:47 PM
As this is a political race I understanding asking you to put that aside for moment is difficult but I would ask you to just that for a moment and look at this from a moral standpoint. Is it OK to reward deceitful and criminal activity? Is it OK to abandon your moral and ethical convictions? Is it OK to teach by example to our young, that it is acceptable behavior to desert principle? I do not expect anyone to post a response but please stop for just a moment and ask is it OK to set aside the conservative values of character, honor and truth to spiritual beliefs as long as a person claims to be a Republican? Are you honest to these ideas in heart AND action or is it just lip service? Politically is it OK to knowingly vote in an individual with a criminal past to write our laws? Is this hard on crime or rewarding crime? Is it OK to knowingly vote in an individual who has pleaded guilty to falsifying political documents to write our laws? Is it OK to knowingly vote in an individual who just two days ago admitted in a court of law that he purposely tried hide his political associations from the public?
JGC November 01, 2012 at 08:47 PM
Remove the "R" from the end of Knodl's name for two minutes and honestly answer these questions to yourself. Then ask yourself is it OK to disregard and forsake your conscience, your integrity, your standards...to allow wrong over right...to knowingly put a criminal in office all because he claims a "R" at the end of his name? Be honest to yourself and to your values, do not relinquish your morality in the name of politics.
Captain Nemo November 02, 2012 at 01:34 AM
Is Romney's name Mitt or Willard? Why did he change his name? Is Gingrich's real name Newt? Why did he change his name? Why doesn't Reinhold Preibus go by his real first name?
Captain Nemo November 02, 2012 at 01:41 AM
I certainly plan to vote for Haqqi. This is not the old 24th district anymore. Most of the Falls, except the northwest corner, is not even in the new district. The district is much more Democratic than in the past, with about 47% of the new district voting for Obama in 2008. Couple that with Knodl's history of criminal and ethics issues ( http://www.germantownnow.com/blogs/communityblogs/175236551.html )Haqqi definitely has made a go of this race.
Captain Nemo November 02, 2012 at 01:47 AM
Shan has lived in the 24th district, in Brown Deer. He currently lives in Brookfield, just over the border from the Falls. Hardly a carpetbagger.
Rosie Azalee November 02, 2012 at 02:57 AM
Shan is a man of integrity and an upstanding member of the community. He has no criminal record. Knodl has a long history of criminal offenses: found guilty and charged with operating without a liquor license, plead guilty to disorderly conduct for falsifying campaign documents (Washington County Circuit Court Case # 91CR490; Plea Deal in Works for Legislator over Campaign Literature, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, January 20, 2009), and most recently he just settled a lawsuit for trying to hide his communication with ALEC. The choice is clear. Don't vote for the criminal - vote for Shan on Nov 6th.
JGC November 02, 2012 at 03:14 AM
Is it OK to knowingly vote in an individual with a criminal past to write our laws?
Captain Nemo November 02, 2012 at 04:02 AM
The letter is quite funny when it talks about how Knodl is independent and will say no to special interests. He should have said no when he instead accepted $2,000 in travel and conference expenses from the business lobbying organization, ALEC. Accepting this gift from a lobbying group goes against the spirit and fact of Wisconsin laws covering lobbying. This gift is currently subject to an ETHICS complaint to the GAB. What an independent guy, who happens to be in the pocket of multiple corporate lobbyists!
Captain Nemo November 02, 2012 at 04:08 AM
It is funny how the endorsement letter above was written by Knodl's CAMPAIGN MANAGER! What is wrong, could you not find someone who will vouch for Knodl who is not heading-up his campaign?
JGC November 02, 2012 at 08:26 PM
@ Steve - Knodl may win an election. But I will win too, you see I will be able to lay at peace on Tuesday night and every night after that with the realization that lived my values of character, honor and truth in mind and action. It is not OK to knowingly electing an individual who has repeatedly demonstrated deception and indifference to the laws of our community.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something