Optimist's Distinguished Young Women Competition Right Around The Corner

Nine contestants will participate Feb. 18 in the 2013 Distinguished Young Woman program for a chance to move on to the state and national competition.

You've met all the contestants in the 2013 Distinguished Young Women program, now the competition is right around the corner.

The 2013 Distinguished Young Women of Menomonee Falls Scholarship Program will be held at 7 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 18 in the auditorium.  Nine participants will be competing for the title and the opportunity to compete in state program on Aug. 4. Music will be provided by the Menomonee Falls High School Jazz Band. Tickets are available at the door for $5.

Participating this year are , , , , , , , and .  All of the contestants are juniors at MFHS. 

Accompanying the contestants will be their Little Misses:  Abby Baker, Grace Block, Emily Ceplina, Riley Ceplina, Eliana Kiltz, Kyrie Kons, Lariska Kons, Elizabeth Larkin, Jaelyn Schmidt and Sydney Witte.

CeCi Scheuber, the , will take a look back at her year and award the title to her successor.

Contestants at all levels of Distinguished Young Women are judged on scholastics, interview, talent, self-expression and physical fitness.  The winner of the state program will advance to the national competition which will be held June, 2013 in Mobile, Alabama.  The Menomonee Falls program is sponsored by The Optimist Club of Menomonee Falls.

For more information on Distinguished Young Women of Menomonee Falls Scholarship Program contact Cathy Sharkey at ( 262)844-1538 or www.ajm.org.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something